Fortnum and Mason – Gluten Free Afternoon Tea

IMG_5546

It was valentines day recently and I was well and truly spoilt with a trip to Fortnum and Mason to try their afternoon tea. This place has been on my gluten free bucket list for a long time as I heard its one of the best places to go in London and it has a dedicated menu. Not only do they have a complete gluten free afternoon tea menu but they cater for the following allergies and dietary requirements;

  • Dairy Free
  • Vegetarian
  • Vegan
  • Diabetic

You can find the full menu here for each of these.

On arrival to Fortnum and Mason I could tell this was going to be an experience I wouldn’t forget. It has a luxury feel right from the start with a live piano player serenading you into the beautiful tea room which is a lovely bright room decorated in their signature duck egg blue and gold. Our server could not have been more helpful and knowledgeable about gluten free and he was at hand to go through all my options. I could choose from the traditional full afternoon tea or select dishes from the menu, many of which could be adapted to be gluten free such as the welsh rarebit made with GF bread.

IMG_5530

I obviously went for the full afternoon tea and it looked amazing on paper. Whilst we waited for our food to arrive you have the opportunity to do a mini tea tasting, trying 4 of their signature blends and picking your favourite to have served with your food. This is another reason why this place is somewhere you should go for an extra special treat.

I was in gluten free heaven when it all arrived.. trust me it tasted just as good as it looks below!

IMG_5558

IMG_5549

IMG_5548

IMG_5547

IMG_5551

IMG_5553

IMG_5555

Everything was delicious! The scones came when they were still warm and the mini GF sandwiches got topped up again after I had eaten my way through the first batch. I was almost too full to eat the top dessert layer but managed to try the little fresh raspberry tart and our waiter kindly wrapped up all our leftovers to take home. It wasn’t long before I tucked in again and had the rest for dessert that night. The rose scented macaroon was so good im already wondering when I can pop back to Fortnum and Mason and buy some more! I would highly recommend a visit here if you are travelling to London if you want to treat a loved one or just treat yourself. The high quality is reflected in the price (around £130 for 2 people, champagne and a tip) but its worth every penny and you get what you pay for.

Rating 5/5

Gluten free knowledge: GGGGG

Amount of gluten free options: GGGGG

Food: GGGGG

Value: GGGG

Service: GGGGG

IMG_5557

2 thoughts on “Fortnum and Mason – Gluten Free Afternoon Tea

  1. Really interesting post about afternoon tea in London and nice pics. I’m Italian (and live in Italy) and I like travelling and most of all I like travelling to London every now and then. I collected some gluten free experiences in London too. My article about gluten free in london is in Italian but have a look if you want. http://glutenfreeontheroad.wordpress.com/2014/02/15/gluten-free-afternoon-tea-senza-glutine-londra/
    It’s in Italian. If you need information about gluten free in Italy you can contact me.
    I will keep on following your blog for my next trip to London!!

Leave a Reply

