Honeybuns Cake Mix

IMG_3050

I first came across Honeybuns and their lovely cakes in a rather unexpected place – at Glastonbury Festival! You can find out more on my blog post ‘My Gluten Free Glastonbury Experience’ but ever since I have tried many of their tasty cakes and I had the opportunity recently to try out their new gluten free cake mix.

Its easy and quick to use especially if you are short of time, it contains all the dry ingredients you need with the addition of eggs and butter. It comes with a handy recipe sheet with several ideas of how to use the mix; either make a plain sponge or something more elaborate. I decided to make a double chocolate cake with mine, a chocolate sponge smothered in lots of chocolate buttercream so I needed some extra ingredients; 1 tablespoon of cocoa powder and 50g of melted dark chocolate (a good quality 70% one) which I added into the mixture along with the eggs .

IMG_3056

following the instructions on the packet and baking in the oven, I left the two cake halves to cool down whilst I made the topping. I decided to go for a chocolate buttercream frosting;

Chocolate buttercream frosting

  • 1/2 tsp (2.5ml) Pure extract of vanilla
  • 100g dark chocolate melted (70%)
  • 150g Butter at room temperature
  • 150g  Icing sugar, sieved
  • Beat the soft butter and half the icing sugar until smooth,  add all the melted chocolate, vanilla extract and remaining icing sugar until the mixture looks glossy.
  • Spread a thick layer on the top of one cake half and then sandwich the other half on top, continue to coat the whole cake with the frosting.

Once baked, the sponge has a lovely nutty taste which is from the ground almonds in the mix. You can pretty much make anything you want with this mixture or could even use it to make fairy cakes. My next door neighbours were my taste testers and sent me a text later that night to say they loved it- so thumbs up from me!

IMG_3115

IMG_3122

 

Note: The content of this blog is my own opinion only.

Leave a Reply

