Gluten Free Victoria Sponge

jane blog 001

Victoria Sponge may seem an over simple recipe to make as it’s always one of the first things you learn to bake as a child, but mastering the art of any gluten free baking isn’t as straight forward and you have to go back to basics.

I love baking, but I have to admit I have had my share of failures when it comes to making the perfect gluten free cake that is light but moist and holds its shape. Recipes have to be adapted properly to compensate for the lack of gluten and I have learnt it’s not just as simple as replacing the normal flour in a recipe with a gluten free version, there has to be special ingredients added too. Gluten is the ‘glue’ that helps the ingredients stick together and rise plus it gives dough its elasticity but when you take that away in gluten free baking, the challenge is putting it back in so the sponge doesn’t crumble. Xanthan gum (the gluten free versions) is the answer to this problem. It’s a protein that acts as a food thickener that also works well to add stickiness to a gluten free batter and thus hold the ingredients together.

When I went back home recently to see my parents in Leeds I had my mum show me her technique because she is ,without doubt, one of the best bakers I know and can make GF cakes with her eyes shut! I think this recipe makes one of the best Victoria sponge cakes so here is what you will need:

jane blog 042

Gluten Free Victoria Sponge ingredients:

6 oz / 170g Gluten Free Self Raising Flour (we used Doves Farm)
6 oz / 170g Bertolli Olive Oil Spread (we used Bertolli but you can use a different one)
6 oz / 170g Caster Sugar
3 medium eggs at room temperature
1 Teaspoon of Gluten Free Baking Powder
1/2 Teaspoon Xanthan Gum (Doves Farm do a gluten free one)
Splash of milk
A few drops of Vanilla Bean extract
Raspberry Jam (or what ever fruit jam you prefer)
Icing Sugar for dusting

1) Preheat the oven to Gas Mark 3/ 160 degrees (lower to 150 degrees for a fan oven)
2) Grease two 8 inch cake tins and line the bottom of each tin with grease proof paper
3) Put the sugar and olive oil spread together in a large bowl. Using an electric whisker, whisk for a few minutes until the mixture is combined and has turned lighter in colour and is creamier in texture (see below)

Whisk the sugar and olive oil spread mixture until light and fluffy

Whisk the sugar and olive oil spread mixture until light and fluffy

4) Add the first 2 eggs into the mixture one at a time, mixing a little between each one with the electric whisk. When you add the 3rd egg also add a tablespoon of flour at the same time, mum says this makes the eggs combine better with the mixture as its very liquid at this point

Adding a spoon of flour with the final egg

Adding a spoon of flour with the final egg

5) Continue to mix the sugar, oil olive spread and egg mixture for a further minute or 2 to combine
6) Gently fold in all the flour, Xantham gum, baking powder, 3 or 4 drops of vanilla bean extract and a splash of milk. Using a large metal spoon carefully fold all the ingredients together ensuring you don’t over work the batter as it needs to stay light and fluffy

7)Gently spoon the mixture equally between your 2 cake tins and place in the pre-heated oven for 30 minutes

jane blog 045

8) After 30 minutes take them both out of the oven and test if it is cooked through using a cake tester, if the mixture is slightly wet in the middle still put them back in the oven for a further 5 minutes. The cakes should be a light golden brown colour when finished.

jane blog 046

9) Leave them to cool completely before decorating your cake. I like to fill mine with raspberry jam and lightly dusk the top with icing sugar but you can also fill the middle of your cake with fresh whipped cream along with the jam or anything else that takes your fancy!

 I think this recipe makes a lovely light and fluffy cake but I would love to know if this recipe works as well for anyone else!

Enjoy 🙂

Delicious gluten free Victoria Sponge cake

Delicious gluten free Victoria Sponge cake

6 thoughts on “Gluten Free Victoria Sponge

  1. Thanks for this! I tried doing a Victoria Sponge with my sponge recipe but it did not come out fluffy and I really need to try something different. This recipe is similar, but I am going to try it out for sure! Will let you know how it goes!

  2. Hiya, I just made this. So delicious! Light, fluffy, perfect and my non gluten free husband just asked for a second slice 🙂 The best Victoria sponge I have ever made for sure and possibly the best ever. Thanks for the recipe, Anna 🙂

  3. This is the best gluten free Victoria sponge I’ve ever tried. I multiplied the ingredients by 1.25 to make a 9″/23cm cake and it worked really well. We had it filled with jam and topped with buttercream (with a cheeky bit of marscapone in it) and strawberries on top – it was very popular with everyone! Thanks for the recipe 🙂

  4. I stumbled across this recipe and have Just made it for my girlfriend. Victoria sponge cakes are her favourite, and shop brought gluten free cakes are not always that impressive. It turned out perfect, really light and spongy and I was surprised by how well it held itself together (usually gluten free cakes are very crumbly) I did add whipped double cream to the filling as an extra treat and my girlfriend (and her mum) both absolutely loved it. Brownie points for me 🙂 Thank you for the recipe.

  5. Hi,
    I love this recipe. I just make the sponge and put buttercream in middle and all around and wrap it in icing. The sponge is beautiful. I also dont half the mixture i make 1 super big cake. I make 1 lot of sponge following the recipe then bake and then make the recipe again for the other half of the cake. I do this for parties in my family and everyone is shocked and says it just tastes like normal cake 🙂 thank u i love this recipe 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

